Unesco Triple Crown Site

19/06/2023 by No Comments

Do you know what the Unesco Triple Crown Site is? It was recently announced that Sabah is the proud owner of a Unesco Triple Crown site.

Following the designation of the Kinabalu National Geopark as the Kinabalu Unesco Global Geopark, it is the third Unesco Triple Crown Site in the world. Today, let’s learn more about this new title for the Land Below The Wind.

What is a Global Geopark?

Unesco Triple Crown Site
photo credit: geo-in. eu

UNESCO Global Geoparks are single, unified geographical areas where international geologically significant sites and landscapes are managed with a holistic approach to protection, education, and sustainable development.

On November 17, 2015, the 195 UNESCO Member States ratified the creation of the new label, UNESCO Global Geoparks, at the 38th UNESCO General Conference.

The award emphasizes the significance of governmental bodies managing outstanding geological sites and landscapes in a holistic manner.

Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geoparks

Unesco Triple Crown Site
photo credit: mediavariasi.com

The Kinabalu National Geopark, located in the heart of the beautiful island of Borneo, is a nature lover’s paradise. It encompasses a large area that includes Mount Kinabalu, Southeast Asia’s highest peak, and its surrounding ecosystems.

This geopark will take your breath away with its diverse range of plants and wildlife, cascading waterfalls, and majestic granite peaks.

Kinabalu Geopark, which covers the districts of Kota Belud, Kota Marudu, and part of Ranau and has 46 geo sites, 12 bio sites, and eight cultural sites, was first designated as a National Geopark on March 18, 2020.

On July 18 to 21, 2022, Kinabalu Geopark was evaluated by a panel of evaluators from the Unesco Global Geopark (UGGp) network. With the designation of Kinabalu Geopark as a UGGp, Sabah has now completed all three Unesco programs.

The three Unesco programs have earned Malaysia the title of “Triple Crown” along with two other countries, South Korea and China.

Sabah as Unesco Triple Crown Site

Unesco Triple Crown Site
photo credit: vnexplorer.net

On Friday (May 26), Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor announced Sabah has joined Jeju Island in Korea and Shennongjia in China in having three Unesco sites.

This designation was made by the Executive Board of The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) on May 24, in Paris.

The other two Unesco “crowns” of Kinabalu Park are the World Heritage Site (declared on December 2, 2000) and the Unesco Crocker Range Biosphere Reserve (declared on June 12, 2014).

With the addition of Kinabalu National Geopark as a UNESCO Global Geopark, there are now 195 geo parks spread across 48 countries.

Want to find more articles like “Unesco Triple Crown Site”? If yes, kindly head to our portal, Cerita Malaysia today!

Disclaimer: The web administrator is not responsible for any of the sender’s comments or posts in the site’s comments section. The sender is solely responsible for any comments or posts made.

Trend, Travel & Filem.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *